clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Mountain West Players Continuing Football Careers Down Under

Australia is starting an American Football league. The Mountain West has several former players participating.

Mountain West Championship - Air Force v San Diego State Photo by Kent Horner/Getty Images

With Hawaii playing Cal in Sydney and the growing popularity of American Football in Australia it was only a matter of time before they started a league. The National Gridiron League will be starting this fall. Included in the rosters are several former Mountain West players.

There will be eight teams separated into two divisions. The divisions will be named after the states the teams are located in, Queensland and New South Wales. The Queensland division will contain the North Coast Heat, Brisbane Outlaws, Logan City Wolverines, and the Gold Coast Kings. The New South Wales division will contain the Newcastle Miners, Central Coast Cyclones, Sydney Express, and the Wollongong Devils.

Seven eof the current 12 football playing members are represented in the NGL. The Hawaii Warriors, Fresno State Bulldogs, San Diego State Aztecs, UNLV Rebels, Nevada Wolfpack, Boise State Broncos, and the Colorado State Rams are represented.

Name School Position Team
Will Lawrence Boise State O-Line Central Coast
Martavius Foster Colorado State D-Line Gold Coast
Benjamin Letcher Fresno State D-Line Brisbane
Robert Rouse Fresno State RB Brisbane
Charles Clay Hawaii DB Newcastle
Brenden Daley Hawaii DE/LB Brisbane
Julian Gener Hawaii LB Newcastle
David Griffin, Jr Hawaii O-Line North Coast
Dee Maggitt Hawaii DB Logan City
Darryl McBride Hawaii LB Brisbane
Jonathon McNeal Nevada LB Newcastle
Adam Roberts San Diego State RB/TE Logan City
Nicholas Gstrein UNLV O-Line Brisbane
Fred Wilson UNLV DB Brisbane