clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Donnel Pumphrey a finalist for Doak Walker Award

Donnel Pumphrey, Dalvin Cook and D’Onta Foreman are finalists.

San Diego State star running back Donnel Pumphrey was included Monday among three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, which honors the nation’s top running back. Texas’ D’Onta Foreman and Florida State’s Dalvin Cook are the other two finalists.

Pumphrey has rushed 287 times for 1,855 yards and 14 touchdowns, and he leads the Aztecs with his 25 catches. On Saturday, Donnel Pumphrey became the #3 all-time leading rusher in the NCAA, with only Ricky Williams and Ron Dayne ahead of him.

Florida State junior Dalvin Cook has scored 18 times, and he has compiled 1,467 rushing yards (over 242 carries) and 400 receiving yards (over 27 receptions).

Texas junior D’Onta Foreman holds an eight-yard lead over Pumphrey for the Football Bowl Subdivision-level rushing title. Foreman’s efforts, though, have come for a team that is 5-6.

The Doak Walker Award has been given annually to college football’s premier running back since 1990, and Ricky Williams won the award for Texas in 1997 and 1998. This year’s trophy will be handed out at the Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8.