clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Heisman trophy results: Jameis Winston wins, Derek Carr eighth

Fresno State's Derek Carr finished eighth in the Heisman trophy voting.

Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013 Heisman trophy was pretty much anticlimactic even with six Heisman finalist this year. The award was Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston's to lose, and he won by 1,501 votes which was the seventh most of all-time. Somehow Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron was the runner-up despite his stats not really being all that great. The first-place votes had Winston earning 668 McCarron's 79.

The rest of the finalist ended up with Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch earning 558 votes, Boston College running back Andre Williams was the highest finished non-quarterback was fourth with 470 points, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was fifth with 421 and Auburn Tigers running back Tre Mason was sixth with 404.

Fresno State's Derek Carr was left out of being a Heisman finalist, and the complete results came out and Carr ended up finished eighth. Ahead of Carr was Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty, and the rest of the top-10 was Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller who finished ninth and 10th was Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey.

Carr was unable to even finish in the top-five in the Far West vote:

1. Jameis Winston 362 total points
2. AJ McCarron 128 total points
3. Jordan Lynch 112 total points
4. Andre Williams 56 total points
5. Johnny Manziel 54 total points
6. Tre Mason 35 total points