clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nevada men’s basketball announces 13-game 2021-22 non-conference slate

NCAA Basketball: Mountain West Conference Tournament- San Diego St vs Nevada Orlando Ramirez-USA TODAY Sports

The Nevada men’s basketball program announced its 2021-22 non-conference schedule Tuesday. The 13-game schedule includes six home games, as well as three contests at the 2021 Crossover Classic at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls, S.D. from Nov. 22-24.

The exact matchups for the classic — which features South Dakota State, Washington and George Mason — have yet to be announced.

The Wolf Pack’s season-opener will be against Eastern Washington — one of three non-conference 2020-21 NCAA Tournament teams they will play this season (at North Texas on Dec. 4; vs. Grand Canyon on Dec. 21). — at home on Nov. 9.

“Our guys have had an outstanding summer, and I’m pleased with out overall offseason development,” said Nevada head coach Steve Alford via press release. “Our non-conference schedule will be back to a full 13 games. The challenge is playing seven games away from home, which should prepare our team for Mountain West play.”

After its season-opener, Nevada will then play San Diego at home on Nov. 12, before traveling to the Bay Area to face Santa Clara (Nov. 16) and San Francisco — a rematch against former Wolf Pack forward Zane Meeks — on Nov. 18.

The Wolf Pack will play six more non-conference games — four in Lawlor Events Center — after the Crossover Classic, beginning with a home bout against Pepperdine on Nov. 30. It closes the six-game slate with three consecutive home contests against UMD (Dec. 15), LMU (Dec. 18) and Grand Canyon.

Steve Alford enters his third season with the Wolf Pack. They return eight players, including Mountain West Newcomer of the Year Grant Sherfield and All-Mountain West honoree Desmond Cambridge Jr. — arguably the conference’s best backcourt.

It also fetched wing transfers Kenan Blackshear (Florida Atlantic, three years of eligibility left) and forward AJ Bramah (Robert Morris, one year of eligibility). Former five-star recruit and Texas transfer Will Baker also earns his first season of eligibility with the Wolf Pack after sitting last season due to NCAA’s transfer policy.

Nevada went 16-10 (10-7 MW) last season and reached the Mountain West Tournament semifinals before falling to top-seeded San Diego State, 77-70. It did not play a postseason tournament.

Here is its full non-conference schedule below:

Nevada men’s basketball 2021-22 schedule

Day Date Opponent Time (PST) TV
Day Date Opponent Time (PST) TV
Tuesday Nov. 9 vs. Eastern Washington TBD TBD
Friday Nov. 12 vs. San Diego TBD TBD
Tuesday Nov. 16 at Santa Clara TBD TBD
Thursday Nov. 18 at San Francisco TBD TBD
Mon-Wed. Nov. 22-24 South Dakota St. / George Mason / Pepperdine TBD TBD
Saturday Nov. 20 vs. Pepperdine TBD TBD
Saturday Dec. 4 at North Texas TBD TBD
Tuesday Dec. 7 at UT-Arlington TBD TBD
Wednesday Dec. 15 vs. Minnesota Duluth TBD TBD
Saturday Dec. 18 vs. Loyola Marymount TBD TBD
Tuesday Dec. 21 vs. Grand Canyon TBD TBD
Tuesday Dec. 28 at San Jose State TBD TBD
Saturday Jan. 1 vs. New Mexico TBD TBD
Tuesday Jan. 4 vs. Wyoming TBD TBD
Saturday Jan. 8 at San Diego State TBD TBD
Tuesday Jan. 11 vs. Boise State TBD TBD
Saturday Jan. 15 at Air Force TBD TBD
Saturday Jan. 22 vs. Fresno State TBD TBD
Tuesday Jan. 25 at Colorado State TBD TBD
Saturday Jan. 29 vs. Utah State TBD TBD
Tuesday Feb. 1 at UNLV TBD TBD
Saturday Feb. 5 at Fresno State TBD TBD
Tuesday Feb. 8 vs. Colorado State TBD TBD
Saturday Feb. 12 at Utah State TBD TBD
Tuesday Feb. 15 vs. San Jose State TBD TBD
Tuesday Feb. 22 vs. UNLV TBD TBD
Saturday Feb. 26 at Wyoming TBD TBD
Tuesday March 1 at Boise State TBD TBD
Saturday March 5 at San Diego State TBD TBD