clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The MWCConnection 2020 Preseason Awards and Predictions

Take a look at who we think we take home some hardware this year.

NCAA Football: Mountain West Championship-Hawaii at Boise State Brian Losness-USA TODAY Sports

Welcome to Kickoff Week here at MWCConnection! Coinciding with MWC Media Days week, it is the unofficial start to the football season. It’s a great time to get hyped about your team and start getting nuggets of football news. Yesterday was our all conference team, which can be found here.

Today, we are releasing our preseason awards and predictions for division standings and conference champion. Like yesterday’s post, our team members submitted their picks and the players and teams with the most votes won out. Take a look at what we compiled below:


Offensive Player of the Year:

  • Hank Bachmeier (Boise State)

Defensive Player of the Year:

  • Tariq Thompson (San Diego State)

Special Teams Player of the Year:

  • Savon Scarver (Utah State)

Offensive Breakout Player of the Year:

  • Jake Haener (Fresno State)

Defensive Breakout Player of the Year:

  • Demitri Washington (Boise State)

Offensive Freshman of the Year:

  • Ben Dooley (Boise State)

Defensive Freshman of the Year:

  • Brennan Scott (UNLV)

Coach of the Year:

  • Bryan Harsin (Boise State)


Voting went as followed: 6 points for a first place vote, 5 for second, 4 for third place, and so on.

Mountain Division Standings:

  1. Boise State
  2. Air Force
  3. Wyoming
  4. Colorado State
  5. Utah State
  6. New Mexico

West Division Standings:

  1. San Diego State
  2. Nevada
  3. Fresno State
  4. Hawaii
  5. San Jose State/UNLV

Conference Champion:

  • Boise State


  • Donald Hammond III would have been the top vote getter for OPOY if not for the recent news of his cadet standing changing. Even so, it was a neck and neck battle between him and Hank Bachmeier.
  • The other two traditional player of the year awards were pretty conclusive, with no close races. However, DPOY had five players receiving votes and STPOY had four.
  • Brennan Scott was the only unanimous selection in our preseason awards.
  • Offensive breakout POY had fellow Bulldog Jalen Cropper close behind Haener.
  • San Diego State was a clear choice for the West division champ, with Fresno State and Nevada receiving the other votes.
  • Boise State was the leading choice in the Mountain, with Air Force the only other team receiving votes (the same was true for conference champion).
  • New Mexico came within two votes of a unanimous choice for last place in their division. SJSU and UNLV split the votes in the other division.
  • Coach of the Year was also a tight race between Harsin and Craig Bohl, with four coaches getting votes overall (Calhoun and DeBoer also received votes).

There it is. So let’s hear it. Who did we snub? Who did we put on here that shouldn’t be? Let’s hear you feedback in the comments section.

Coming tomorrow: Our Kickoff Week continues as Peak Perspective will take a look at which teams have the best position units heading into 2020.