clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

November 14th Nevada-New Mexico game moved

Game will be played in different city

New Mexico v Nevada Photo by Jonathan Devich/Getty Images

In a move that shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone given the current situation in Albuquerque, and New Mexico in general, of rising COVID-19 cases, the game between the Nevada Wolf Pack and the New Mexico Lobos that was scheduled to be played in Albuquerque on November 14th has now been moved to Las Vegas, Nevada.

The Mountain West announced the move just a few minutes ago. The conference’s statement:

“Due to the current state health protocols and guidelines in New Mexico, the Nevada-New Mexico football game scheduled for Sat., Nov. 14 has been relocated to Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.”

Kick-off remains set for 4:30 p.m. MT/3:30 p.m. PT and will be broadcast nationally on FS2.

The UNM football program has relocated to Las Vegas and has been practicing at Sam Boyd Stadium due to the state health orders in New Mexico limiting gatherings to five, or less.

For New Mexico, this will be considered a home game for the displaced team. For now, they are currently the only FBS team that has relocated in order to practice and play games due to the pandemic.

New Mexico will visit Hawai’i as planned this Saturday with kickoff at 9:00 p.m. MT/8:00 p.m. PT.