clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mountain West Connection 2019 Preseason Awards and Predictions

Take a look at who we think we take home some hardware this year.

NCAA Football: Mountain West Championship-Fresno State at Boise State Brian Losness-USA TODAY Sports

It’s Media Days week!!! That is the unofficial start to the football season. It’s a great time to get hyped about your team and start getting nuggets of football news. Here at MWCConnection, we are getting involved in the fun by releasing our own pre-season content. Yesterday was our all conference team, which can be found here.

Today, we are releasing our preseason awards and predictions for division standings and conference champion. Like yesterday’s post, our team members submitted their picks and the players and teams with the most votes won out. Take a look at what we compiled below:


Offensive Player of the Year:

  • QB Jordan Love (Utah State)

Defensive Player of the Year:

  • DE Curtis Weaver (Boise State)

Special Teams Player of the Year:

  • WR Savon Scarver (Utah State)

Offensive Breakout Player of the Year:

  • Octavious Evans (Boise State)

Defensive Breakout Player of the Year:

  • LB Ezekiel Noa (Boise State State)

Offensive Freshman of the Year:

  • WR Jalen Cropper (Fresno State)

Defensive Freshman of the Year:

  • CB Brandon Crossley (Colorado State)

Coach of the Year:

  • Craig Bohl (Wyoming)/Rocky Long (SDSU)/Bryan Harsin (Boise State)


Voting went as followed: 6 points for a first place vote, 5 for second, 4 for third place, and so on.

Mountain Division Standings:

  1. Boise State
  2. Utah State
  3. Wyoming
  4. Air Force
  5. Colorado State
  6. New Mexico

West Division Standings:

  1. San Diego State
  2. Fresno State
  3. Hawaii
  4. Nevada
  5. UNLV
  6. San Jose State

Conference Champion:

  • Boise State


  • The three traditional player of the year awards were pretty conclusive between our team, although none were unanimous.
  • Fresno State and San Diego State was a tight race for the West division champ, separated by a single point.
  • Boise State was a clear choice in the Mountain, with Utah State receiving the only other first place vote.
  • Boise State, Fresno State, SDSU were the only three teams who received votes for conference champ.
  • San Jose State appeared last in their division on every ballot. New Mexico came within one vote of doing the same.
  • Coach of the Year was also a tight race, with four coaches getting votes and a three-way tie for the top spot. Keep an eye on who widens the gap during the season.
  • Offensive Breakout POY was a tight three person race, with a one vote difference between Evans, Toa Taua, and Xazavian Valladay.

There it is. So let’s hear it. Who did we snub? Who did we put on here that shouldn’t be? Let’s hear you feedback in the comments section.

Coming tomorrow: Our Kickoff Week continues as Peak Perspective will take a look at which teams have the best position units heading into 2019.