clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aggies, HC Wells Receive All-MWC Honors

Eighteen USU players receive votes for the All-Mountain West team

NCAA Football: Utah State at Wyoming Troy Babbitt-USA TODAY Sports

After an enormously successful year for the Utah State football team, many players and Head Coach Matt Wells were awarded honors for their stellar performance.

All-MWC First Team Honors were given to senior C Quin Ficklin and sophomore WR Savon Scarver (as a return specialist.)

All-MWC Second Team Honors were given to sophomore QB Jordan Love, junior RB Darwin Thompson, senior OL Roman Andrus, junior linebacker Tipa Galeai, senior S Jontrell Rocquemore, and senior linebacker David Woodward.

Ten other Aggies received All-MWC Honorable Mentions, highlighted by junior TE Dax Raymond, senior WR Ron’Quavion Tarver, and junior K Dominik Eberle.

The total number of honorees, 18, is tied with the 1997 squad for most in program history, and are the most for Utah State as a member of the Mountain West Conference.

Let us not forget about Coach Matt Wells, as he rightfully earned the award of Mountain West Coach of the Year. This is his second time receiving the award, he also won it back in 2013.

Wells led the Aggies to their third 10+ win season in the last 5 years. It’s also of note that their 7-1 record in conference play is tied for the best in school history.

It’s been an incredible ride for the Aggies this season, a ride of historic proportions. And they aren’t done yet, as they sit patiently and await their bowl matchup to be revealed on December 2nd.

Congratulations to all the Aggies who were nominated for the All-MWC and congratulations to Coach Wells!

What do you think? Let us know in the comments!

Follow UnderDogAlways at @alexyatta_ and The Mountain West Connection at @mwcconnection on Twitter!