clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mountain West Connection Postseason Awards

Our team weighs in on this year’s standouts.

NCAA Football: Mountain West Championship-Fresno State at Boise State Brian Losness-USA TODAY Sports

As the football season comes to a close, we have a full slate of postseason content for you over the coming weeks. The aim is to provide a well-rounded look at the 2018 Mountain West Conference football season.

Today, we are releasing our end of season awards Like the preseason post, our team members submitted their picks, and the players with the most votes won out. Here’s our preseason predictions to refresh your memories and feel free to compare how well we did or didn’t do on things. Take a look at what we compiled below:


Offensive Player of the Year:

  • QB Brett Rypien (Boise State)

Defensive Player of the Year:

  • Jeffrey Allison (Fresno State)

Special Teams Player of the Year:

  • Savon Scarver (Utah State)

Offensive Breakout Player of the Year:

  • Jordan Love (Utah State)

Defensive Breakout Player of the Year:

  • LB Kyahva Tezino (San Diego State)

Offensive Freshman of the Year:

  • Toa Taua (Nevada)

Defensive Freshman of the Year:

  • Rashad Ajayi (Colorado State)

Coach of the Year:

  • Matt Wells (Utah State)


  • The offensive player of the year was almost unanimous, while the defensive player of the year was a much closer vote. It was interesting because if you remember from our preseason picks, we discussed how the OPOY lacked an obvious pick while DPOY was pretty clear with Wingard and Granderson the frontrunners. Funny how a season of actual games can change things, as the script was pretty much flipped. In the also receiving votes category, there was Cole McDonald and Alexander Mattison for OPOY, with Curtis Weaver, Tank Kelly and Kyahva Tezino for DPOY.
  • Special Teams player of the year was also pretty clear, as Scarver was quite a bit ahead of the others receiving votes (Cooper Rothe, Blake Cusick and Dominik Eberle)
  • Love emerged as a pretty clear offensive breakout player (with Nico Evans, Preston Williams and Darwin Thompson as other vote getters), while Tezino was a unanimous choice for defensive breakout player.
  • Similarly, the freshman players of the year were pretty clear. Taua and Ajayi were the top vote getters by a wide margin, with a few others getting votes along the way.
  • Coach of the Year was a pretty clear race with Wells obviously getting the majority, although Norvell, Harsin and Rolovich got a vote as well.

There it is. So let’s hear it. Who did we snub? Who did we put on here that shouldn’t be? Let’s hear you feedback in the comments section.

Coming tomorrow: Our postseason all-MWC first and second teams.