clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Mountain West Connection All-MWC 2018 Preseason MBB Team and Awards

Our version of the all-conference team plus awards

Colorado State v Nevada Photo by David Becker/Getty Images

College Basketball season is already up and running but we are in that time of where football is still king for most people. Still, the Mountain West has some great players and teams on the hardwood in this upcoming season. Like we did at the start of football season, different members of our team submitted their ballots for the all-conference team as well as pre-season awards. We tallied the votes and compiled our Mountain West Connection All-MWC Men’s Basketball Team, as well as our pre-season awards.

The Team

Cody Martin (SR, Nevada)

Caleb Martin (SR, Nevada)

Jordan Caroline (SR, Nevada)

Vance Jackson (SO, New Mexico)

Justin James (SR, Wyoming)

Others receiving votes:

Jalen McDaniels (SO, San Diego State), Deshon Taylor (SR, Fresno State), Sam Merrill (JR, Utah State)


  • Cody, Caleb, and Jordan were all unanimous choices.
  • Jackson and James were also players who rose above the others in receiving votes. James in particular was one vote above McDaniels and Taylor, so those could’ve gone either way.
  • Cases could certainly be made for the ones who didn’t make the top 5 cut. It would not be surprising if some of those players found their way into the post-season all-conference team.

The Awards

Player of the Year

Caleb Martin (SR, Nevada)

Defensive Player of the Year

Cody Martin (SR, Nevada)

Newcomer of the Year

Vance Jackson (SO, New Mexico)

- Also received votes: Jordan Brown

Coach of the Year

Paul Weir (New Mexico)

- Also received votes: Leon Rice (Boise State), Craig Smith (Utah State)

Conference Champion

Nevada (over San Diego State)


  • Again, the Nevada-related choices were obvious. Anyone not picking them to win the MWC is doing it just to be different as they are head and shoulders above any other team. The Martins in their respective awards were unanimous.
  • Teams like SDSU, New Mexico, and UNLV are also talented and hopefully the MWC will be a multi-bid league this year.
  • Coach of the Year was a tough choice, as our team was pretty split.

There it is. So let’s hear it. Do you agree or disagree with our selections? Who did we snub? Who did we put on here that shouldn’t be? Let’s hear you feedback in the comments section.