clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tis’ The Season

Watch List Season is Upon Us

NCAA Football: Poinsettia Bowl-Brigham Young vs Wyoming
Josh Allen - Wyoming - Among three Mountain West athletes named to Maxwell Award watch list
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The season is finally upon us - no, not the real season unfortunately - but Watch List Season nonetheless. And while these preseason lists really serve little purpose in the long term results of who will ultimately walk away with the awards, they do at least spark discussion and give a reminder that before you know it, football season will be here.

Here is a quick review of which Mountain West athletes have been placed on watch lists thus far.

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of The Year):

  • Andrew Wingard - Wyoming - Junior
  • Jahlani Tavai - Hawaii - Junior
  • David Moa - BSU - Junior
  • Malik Reed - Nevada - Junior

Maxwell Award (College Player of The Year)

  • Josh Allen - Wyoming - Junior
  • Brett Rypien - BSU - Junior
  • Rashaad Penny - SDSU - Senior

John Mackey Award (Most Outstanding Tight End)

  • David Wells, SDSU - Senior
  • Metuisela Unga - Hawaii - Senior
  • Jake Roh - BSU - Senior
  • Dax Raymond - Utah State - Sophomore

Rimington Award (Nation’s Premiere Center)

  • Asotui Eli - Hawaii
  • Blaise Fountain - New Mexico
  • Jake Bennett - Colorado State
  • Keoni Taylor - SJSU
  • Mason Hampton - BSU
  • Sean Krepsz - Nevada
  • Aaron Mitchell - Fresno State

More watch lists will be announced in the following days. Here is the upcoming schedule:

  • July 12th - Lou Groza Award (Nation’s Top Place Kicker), Ray Guy Award (College Punter of The Year)
  • July 13 - Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player), Outland Trophy (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman)
  • July 14 - Jim Thorpe Award (Presented to the nation’s best defensive back)
  • July 17 - Butkus Award (Presented to the nation’s best linebacker), Paul Hornug Award (Presented to the most versatile player in college football)
  • July 18 - Biletnikoff Award (Presented to the nation’s outstanding college receiver), Wuerffel Trophy (Presented to the player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement)
  • July 19 - Davey O'Brien Award (Presented to the nation’s best quarterback)
  • July 20 - Doak Walker Award (Presented to the nation’s premier running back)
  • July 21 - Walter Camp Award (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding player)

Check back to see which Mountain West athletes’ names appear on the lists in the coming days.