clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado State’s Gian Clavell Named Mountain West POY, Other Awards Announced

All of the accolades from the 2016-17 Mountain West season.

NCAA Basketball: Fresno State at Colorado State Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

With the Mountain West men’s basketball season concluding on Saturday night, the full list of awards and recognitions were announced Sunday morning.

Gian Clavell, who missed the majority of last season before being granted an extra year of eligibility by the NCAA, took home the majority of the hardware in his final season as a collegiate athlete. Clavell averaged 19.5 points, 6.3 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game this season while carrying the short-handed CSU team to the #2 seed for the Mountain West tournament.

The full list of awards and recognitions are listed below.

All-Mountain West First Team

G: Gian Clavell, Colorado State - 154 votes
G: Marcus Marshall, Nevada - 147
F: Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State - 132
F: Brandon Clarke, San Jose State - 129
F: Cameron Oliver, Nevada - 118

All-Mountain West Second Team

G/F: Chandler Hutchison, Boise State - 113
G: Elijah Brown, New Mexico - 106
F: Jordan Caroline, Nevada - 88
F: Jalen Moore, Utah State - 80
G: Deshon Taylor, Fresno State - 58

All-Mountain West Third Team

G: DJ Fenner, Nevada - 51
G: Koby McEwen, Utah State - 31
G: Trey Kell, San Diego State - 28
G: Jaron Hopkins, Fresno State - 24
G: Jovan Mooring, UNLV - 14

All-Mountain West Honorable Mentions

Hayden Graham, Air Force
Prentiss Nixon, Colorado State
Dakarai Allen, San Diego State
Zylan Cheatham, San Diego State
Paris Austin, Boise State
Hayden Dalton, Wyoming
Justin James, Wyoming
Tim Williams, New Mexico

Player of the Year: Gian Clavell, Colorado State - 4 votes

Coach of the Year: Larry Eustachy, Colorado State - 8 votes

Newcomer of the Year: Marcus Marshall, Nevada - 8 votes

Freshman of the Year: Koby McEwen, Utah State - 11 votes (unanimous)

Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron Oliver, Nevada - 4 votes

Sixth Man of the Year: Justin James, Wyoming - 7 votes