clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Utah State football: Kent Myers, Devante Mays honored

USU Quarterback Kent Myers and USU Running Back Devante Mays have been nominated for multiple awards.

Utah State quarterback Kent Myers and Utah State running back Devante Mays were recently honored by being named to the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List. The award is given to the best offensive player in Division I football from Texas every year.

Utah State is one of the 4 schools to have multiple players nominated for this prestigious award, and only two other Mountain West players were put on the watch list. Other nominees include Baker Mayfield, J.T. Barrett, Ohio State quarterback, and Seth Russel.

By November the watch list will be cut down to just 16 semifinalists, and in by January the five finalists, and winner, will be announced.

Along with this award, Myers and Mays were also nominated for 2 other awards. Mays was nominated for the Doak Walker Award, an award given to the best running back in all of college football. Myers was one of the 30 quarterbacks nominated for the Manning Award, an award named to honor the Manning family.

This award is given to the best quarterback in the United States every year, and it’s the only award of its type to include bowl performance in its balloting process. Every winner of the award has gone on to be drafted in the first round, with the exception of Colt McCoy.

We at MWC Connection wish the best of luck to Kent Myers, Devante Mays, and all of the Mountain West players nominated for awards thus far.