clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Diego State leads the way on the Mountain West's preseason all-conference team

The defending champions landed six players onto the 2016 list.

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Ten teams are represented in this year's preseason all-Mountain West football selections, though the benchmark for individual success seems to have been raised by San Diego State.

The Aztecs, after cleaning up in the media's preseason player of the year votes, landed a conference-best six players onto this year's iteration. As expected, Donnel Pumphrey, Damontae Kazee and Rashaad Penny appear on offense, defense and special teams, and they are joined by seniors Nico Siragusa, Calvin Munson and Alex Barrett.

Perhaps surprisingly, the Utah State Aggies finished second and claimed four selections, all of which allude to potential strength on their lines. Center Austin Stephens and tackle Jake Simonich represent the offensive line, while Travis Seefeldt and Ricky Ali'fua figure to be factors on the defensive front.

Boise State, San Jose State and Wyoming each had three selections. Fresno State and Hawaii were the only Mountain West teams not to be represented.

All-Conference Offense
Quarterback Brett Rypien, Boise State
Wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck, Boise State
Wide receiver Devonte Boyd, UNLV
Running back Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State
Running back Brian Hill, Wyoming
Offensive line Fred Zerblis, Colorado State
Offensive line Nico Siragusa, San Diego State
Offensive line Jake Simonich, Utah State
Offensive line Austin Stephens, Utah State
Offensive line Chase Roullier, Wyoming
Tight end Billy Freeman, San Jose State

All-Conference Defense
Defensive line Nik D'Avanzo, New Mexico
Defensive line Alex Barrett, San Diego State
Defensive line Travis Seefeldt, Utah State
Defensive line Ricky Ali'fua, Utah State
Linebacker Christian Tago, San Jose State
Linebacker Calvin Munson, San Diego State
Linebacker Dakota Cox, New Mexico
Defensive back Weston Steelhammer, Air Force
Defensive back Damontae Kazee, San Diego State
Defensive back Dameon Baber, Nevada
Defensive back Andrew Wingard, Wyoming

All-Conference Special Teams
Punter Hayden Hunt, Colorado State
Punter Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State
Kicker Tyler Rausa, Boise State
Returner Rashaad Penny, San Diego State

All-Conference selections by team
Air Force 1
Boise State 3
Colorado State 2
Fresno State 0
Hawaii 0
Nevada 1
New Mexico 2
San Diego State 6
San Jose State 3
Utah State 4
Wyoming 3