clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Donnel Pumphrey closing in on #2 all-time rushing leader (and maybe #1)

You’ve got this, Donnel.

University of Texas commemorative statue of #2 all-time NCAA rusher Ricky Williams

Donnel Pumphrey is the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row. He is also a finalist for the Doak Walker Award and is possibly one game away from being declared the most prolific rusher in NCAA history.

The Aztecs were unexpectedly routed 63-31 by Colorado State at Qualcomm Stadium during Senior Night last Saturday. For a team who had defeated opposing conference teams at an average 38-point margin until 33-34 loss against Wyoming in Laramie, this was a full-bore punch in the mouth.

For the second game in a row, we witnessed Donnel Pumphrey contained. The running back who averaged over 175 yards, before the Laramie loss, was held to even fewer yards against Colorado State- only 53. For a Heisman hopeful, this game had to be nerve fraying.

San Diego State’s season is far from over, and the Aztecs will enter Laramie this weekend seeking double redemption. If Donnel can keep a cool hand, and not let altitude or the thought of success cloud him- history will be his.

Pumphrey ought to be excited about what’s ahead. Today, he is second in the nation in rushing with 1,908 yards, and currently fourth in the nation in rushing touchdowns with 15. He is the third-leading all-time career rusher now at 6,180 yards

So to summarize, Pumphrey will play the Mountain West Championship game at Wyoming on Saturday, before completing his college career in a bowl game that is yet to be determined.

Upcoming key milestones:

  • Donnel needs 92 yards to become the 28th player in NCAA history to gain 2,000 yards in a single season.
  • He needs 100 yards to pass #2 all time rusher and Heisman winner Ricky Williams
  • He needs 121 yards to pass Texas running back D’Onta Foreman as the 2016 season leader. Foreman ended his season with 2,028 yards.
  • He needs 218 yards to pass #1 all time rusher and Heisman winner Ron Dayne.

Latest tabulation of all-time rushing leaders:

Rank Player Team (seasons) Total rushing yards

1 Ron Dayne, Wisconsin (1996–1999) 6,397

2 Ricky Williams, Texas (1995–1998) 6,279

3 Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State (2013–) 6,180

Pumphrey did pass the SDSU single-season rushing record (1,867 yards) that he set in 2014.

The entire Aztec community stands behind Donnel Pumphrey, and the all-time record is closer than ever! We will all watch in enthusiastic anticipation as Donnel continues to represent our university with prestige, and we all wish for him success and greatness.

Stay tuned for your final two updates in the coming weeks!