clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phil Steele announces Mountain West all-conference teams

Phil Steele attempts to name the best Mountain West quarterback in his preseason all-league selections.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Phil Steele announced his Mountain West teams on Monday and he just like everyone else he is not sure who the best quarterback is in this league. Steele goes with Max Wittek at Hawaii and that might be due to him being a transfer from USC.

One of the most interesting picks at quarterback is San Jose State's Joe Gray since the Spartans have not officially named a starting quarterback. Utah State's Chuckie Keeton has injury issues but based on history is a very good quarterback.

Air Force's Nate Romine has an argument to be made to be on this list because he started multiple games in 2013 but was not in 2014. Basically the quarterback scenario is a crap shoot at this point to say who is the best quarterback.

The most obvious choices on offense were San Diego State running back Donnel Pumphrey, Colorado State wide receiver Rashard Higgins and UNLV wide receiver Devonte Boyd.

The first-team defenses is stacked with four Boise State players with Utah State coming in next with two players.

The two positions with the most talent in the conference look to be wide receiver and linebackers, defensive back is a close third.

Phil Steele's 2015 Preseason All-Mountain West Team

1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
QB Max Wittek, Hawaii Joe Gray, San Jose St Chuckie Keaton, Utah St Tyler Stewart, Nevada
RB Marteze Waller, Fresno St Tyler Ervin, San Jose St Jacobi Owens, Air Force Shaun Wick, Wyoming
RB Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego St Jhurell Pressley, New Mexico Kelsey Young, Boise State Keith Whitely, UNLV
WR Tyler Winston, San Jose St Marcus Kemp, Hawaii Quinton Pedroza, Hawaii Jerico Richardson, Nevada
WR Rashard Higgins, Colorado St Hunter Sharp, Utah St Hasaan Henderson, Nevada Jojo Natson, Utah St
WR Devonte Boyd, UNLV Jalen Robinette, Air Force Thomas Sperbeck, Boise St Shane Williams-Rhodes, Boise St
TE Steven Walker, Colorado St Jarred Gipson, Nevada Jake Roh, Boise St Kivon Cartwright, Colorado St
C Marcus Henry, Boise St Austin Stephens, Utah St RAir Forcee Kiely, Wyoming Bo Bonnheim, Fresno St
OL Rees Odhiambo, Boise St Jake Simonich, Utah St Chase Roullier, Wyoming Mario Yakoo, Boise St
OL Darrell Greene, San Diego St Fred Zerblis, Colorado St Steve Baggett, Boise St Nico Siragusa, San Diego St
OL Pearce Slater, San Diego St Travis Averill, Boise St Garrett Adcock, New Mexico Wes Schweitzer, San Diego St
OL Ben Clarke, Hawaii Alex Fifita, Fresno St Reno Henderson, New Mexico Justin Northern, Fresno St
1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
DL Kamalei Correa, Boise St Alex Hansen, Air Force Todd Hunt, Fresno St Jon Sanchez, San Diego St
DL Alex Barrett, San Diego St Kennedy Tulimasealii, Hawaii Deuce Mataele, Boise St Nik D'Avanzo, New Mexico
DL Ian Seau, Nevada Jordan Nielsen, Utah St Joe Kawulok, Colorado St Armand Nance, Boise St
DL Eddie Yarbrough, Wyoming Rykeem Yates, Nevada Travis Seefeldt, Utah St Justin Hansen, Colorado St
LB Tanner Vallejo, Boise St Dakota Cox, New Mexico Jake Fely, San Diego St Ejiro Ederaine, Fresno St
LB Nick Vigil, Utah St Calvin Munson, San Diego St Jordan Dobrich, Nevada Tau Lotulelei, UNLV
LB Christian Tago, San Jose St Kyrie Wilson, Fresno St Matthew Lyons, Nevada Bryan Lane, Nevada
LB Kyler Fackrell, Utah St Cory James, Colorado St Ben Weaver, Boise St Connor Healy, Air Force
DB Trent Matthews, Colorado St Weston Steelhammer, Air Force Malik Smith, San Diego St Jalen Davis, Utah St
DB Darian Thompson, Boise St Damontae Kazee, San Diego St Devin Centers, Utah St Trey Lomax, San Diego St
DB Donte Deayon, Boise St JJ Whittaker, San Diego St Kevin Pierre-Louis, Colorado St Trayvon Henderson, Hawaii
DB Peni Vea, UNLV Charles Washington, Fresno St Cleveland Wallace, San Jose St Jimmy Pruitt, San Jose St
1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
K Donald Hageman, San Diego St Brent Zuzo, Nevada Austin Lopez, San Jose St Tyler Rausa, Boise St
P Garrett Swanson, Fresno St Hayden Hunt, Colorado St Sean Wale, Boise St Alex Boy, Nevada
KR Deionte Gaines, Colorado St Ridge Jones, New Mexico Jeremy McNichols, Boise St Rashaad Penny, San Diego St
PR JoJo Natson, Utah St Lloyd Mills, San Diego St Tyler Ervin, San Jose St Donte Deayon, Boise St