clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four MWC players named to Walter Camp Award Watch List

The final preseason watch list is out, the Walter Camp Award, given to the nation's most outstanding player.

Kevin C. Cox

Let it sink in for a second.

No more watch lists are coming out this offseason. Sad, I know, but this means we are getting closer and closer to kickoff this fall. On Friday morning, 50 players were named to the Walter Camp Award Watch List, given to the nation's most outstanding player. Four Mountain West players landed on that list: Fresno State's Derron Smtih, Boise State's Jay Ajayi, Colorado State's Garrett Grayson, and Nevada's Brock Hekking. One glaring omission is Utah State's Chuckie Keeton, considered by some to the best Quarterback and player in the MWC.

One of the best defensive, and possibly best overall, players in the Mountain West, Derron Smith is the returning interception leader in college football with 14 interceptions in his Bulldogs career, picking off seven passes for 135 yards in 2013. Smith also won MVP of the MWC Championship was an integral part of the Bulldogs 2013 season.

After one of the best statistical seasons in CSU history, Garrett Grayson is back with hopes to lead the Rams to back to back bowl games for the first time since 2002-03. He threw for nearly 4,000 yards and and 20-plus touchdowns, and will be the offensive leader for the Rams with Kapri Bibbs gone for the NFL.

Nevada's Brock Hekking has been no stranger to offseason watch lists this year, landing a spot on both the Outland watch list and Lombari watch list. Hekking lead the Wolfpack defense with 8.0 sacks in 2013, and will be the biggest threat on the Nevada defensive line.

Jay Ajayi is possibly the best running back in the Mountain West , and maybe one of the best in the nation. Through his two years at Boise, he's racked up nearly 2,000-yards and 23 touchdowns, and could top the BSU record books after his junior year with the Broncos.

While these four are just potential candidates to take home the award this fall, one big season could make either of them front runners for the nation's most outstanding player.