clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ten Mountain West players land on the Lombardi Award Watch List

Watch Lists continue to churn out this off-season, and today, it's the Lombardi Award, given to the best down lineman in College Football.

Russ Isabella-USA TODAY Sports

The committee that puts out the Watch List for the Lombardi Award made sure they didn't leave anyone off, naming 123 players to their annual award Watch List Monday morning. Ten Offensive/Defensive Lineman from the MWC found their names on that Watch List:

  • Brett Boyko, Senior Tackle, UNLV
  • Ben Clarke, Junior Center, Hawaii
  • Tyeler Davison, Senior Defensive Tackle, Fresno State
  • Ejiro Ederaine, Junior Linebacker, Fresno State
  • Kyler Fackrell, Junior Linebacker, Utah State
  • Brock Hekking, Senior Defensive End, Nevada
  • Ty Sambrailo, Senior Tackle, Colorado State
  • Zach Vigil, Senior Linebacker, Utah State
  • Cody Wichmann, Senior Offensive Guard, Fresno State
  • Eddie Yarbrough, Junior Defensive End, Wyoming
*Former UNLV Guard Cameron Jefferson was also named to the Watch List, but he transferred to Arkansas in early June.

Between Clarke, Wichmann, and Boyko, they have started over 70 games in their careers, with Clarke starting at Center all 24 games of his Hawaii career. All three received notice for their efforts last season, landing spots on the All-MWC team (Boyko was second team offensive, Clarke/Wichmann were honorable mentions.)

While these ten may be flying under the national radar at the moment, a breakout 2014 could merit them national attention, and possibly a chance to win the Mountain West's first Lombardi Award in it's history.