clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phil Steele announces Mountain West all-conference teams

The first set of preseason all-conference awards rolled out on Tuesday as Phil Steele announced his four-team all-Mountain West teams.

Troy Babbitt-USA TODAY Sports

Awards and preseason teams are trickling in as we enter June and college football inches closer to the opening kickoffs in late August. The first big name to release all-conference teams is Phil Steele who goes above and beyond with rolling out four-teams worth of names.

These preseason all-league teams also give an indication as to what team will win the league. Boise State leads the way with 16 all-conference members,  followed by Colorado State with a surprising 12 and then Utah State and Fresno State with 10.

A few things that stand out with these very early projections are that Josh Quezada is a first-team running back yet Marteze Waller who had nearly identical stats is no where to be found. It is a minor surprise to see Chuckie Keeton as the first-team quarterback just because he his coming off of a torn ACL. The quarterback class overall is much weaker than last season, at least from the hype heading into the preseason.

Wide receiver was pretty straight forward with Devante Davis, Josh Harper and Matt Miller.

Some may be surprised to see Hawaii running back Joey Iosefa as a second-team member, but when he was healthy late in the year for Hawaii he put up good numbers. In his four complete games, Iosefa rushed for 590 yards, averaged a decent 4.68 yards per carry and scored five touchdowns; plus he also caught 10 passes and scored one touchdown as well.

Here is Phil Steele's four-team all-Mountain West selections:

1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
QB Chuckie Keeton, Utah St Cody Fajardo, Nevada Grant Hedrick, Boise St Garrett Grayson, Colorado St
RB Jay Ajayi, Boise St Kendall Brock, Nevada Marcus Stamps, San Diego St Broam Hart, Air Force
RB Josh Quezada, Fresno St Joey Iosefa, Hawai'i Jarrod Lawson, San Jose St Shaun Wick, Wyoming
WR Devante Davis, UNLV Ezell Ruffin, San Diego St Richy Turner, Nevada Scott Harding, Hawai'i
WR Josh Harper, Fresno St Tyler Winston, San Jose St Rashard Higgins, Colorado St Marcus Sullivan, UNLV
WR Matt Miller, Boise St Dominic Rufran, Wyoming Shane Williams-Rhodes, Boise Jalen Robinette, Air Force
TE Kivon Cartwright, Colorado St Billy Freeman, San Jose St Wyatt Houston, Utah St Garrett Griffin, Air Force
C Robert Waterman, UNLV Michael Husar, Air Force Matt Galas, Nevada Kody Afusia, Hawai'i
OG (C) LaMar Bratton, New Mexico Cameron Jefferson, UNLV (TRANSFERRED) Jamal Price, New Mexico (OT) Andrew Oberg, UNLV
OG Cody Wichmann, Fresno St (OT) Ben Clarke, Hawai'i Jake Jones, Wyoming Darrell Greene, San Diego St
OT Brett Boyko, UNLV Ty Sambrailo, Colorado St Justin Northern, Fresno St Matt Rochell, Air Force
OT Kevin Whimpey, Utah St Terry Poole, San Diego St Connor Rains, Wyoming Rees Odhiambo, Boise St
1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
DE Brock Hekking, Nevada Brett Bowers, New Mexico Jordan Nielsen, Utah St Sonny Puletasi, Wyoming
DT Travis Raciti, San Jose St Rykeem Yates, Nevada Armand Nance, Boise St Terry Jackson, Colorado St
DT Tyeler Davison, Fresno St Tyler Horn, Boise St Patrick Mertens, Wyoming Christian Heyward, SD St
DE Eddie Yarbrough, Wyoming BJ Larsen, Utah St Beau Yap, Hawai'i Ian Seau, Nevada
LB Cory James, Colorado St Jake Fely, San Diego St (DE) Gabe Perez, Boise St Vince Buhagiar, San Jose St
LB Ejiro Ederaine, Fresno St Jordan Stanton, Wyoming Christian Tago, San Jose St Mark Nzeocha, Wyoming
LB Zach Vigil, Utah St Max Morgan, Colorado St Joey Nichol, Air Force Donavon Lewis, Fresno St
LB Kyler Fackrell, Utah St Jonathan McNeal, Nevada Ben Weaver, Boise St Aaron Davis, Colorado St
CB Donte Deayon, Boise St Kenneth Penny, UNLV Ne'Quan Phillips, Hawai'i Bernard Blake, Colorado St
CB JJ Whittaker, San Diego St Bryan Douglas, Boise St Charles Garrett, Nevada Dasheon Frierson, SJ St
S Derron Smith, Fresno St Peni Vea, UNLV Darian Thompson, Boise St Charles Washington, Fresno St
S Brian Suite, Utah St Trent Matthews, Colorado St Jeremy Ioane, Boise St Christian Spears, Air Force
1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
K Jared Roberts, Colorado St Austin Lopez, San Jose St Will Conant, Air Force Dan Goodale, Boise St
P Garrett Swanson, Fresno St Scott Harding, Hawai'i Jaron Bentrude, Utah St Ethan Wood, Wyoming
KR Carlos Wiggins, New Mexico Bryan Douglas, Boise St Marcus Sullivan, UNLV Diocemy Saint Juste, Hawai'i
PR Shane Williams-Rhodes, Boise St Bruce Natson, Utah St Joe Hansley, Colorado St Scott Harding, Hawai'i

Chime in with any omissions, under valued or over valued players.