clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NCAA baseball tournament: Regional hosts announced, Mountain West not included

The NCAA regional seeds were announced Sunday night, and as expected the Mountain West is not hosting a regional.


The Mountain West is expected to get two, not three, teams into the baseball NCAA tournament. San Diego State won the automatic bid for topping UNLV and winning the Mountain West tournament in the process. UNLV is getting in for their body of work and top-30 RPI, but New Mexico's falter to Nevada in the Mountain West tournament more than likely will keep them out of the NCAA tournament.

The NCAA slow plays the release of their 64-team tournament by first announcing the 16 regional sites, and to no one's surprise the Mountain West is not going to be hosting a regional. That also means that a national seed also will not be coming from the Mountain West, again that was expected to be the case.

Here are the complete list of host teams:

  • Cal Poly (San Luis Obispo, California)
  • Florida (Gainesville, Florida)
  • Florida State (Tallahassee, Florida)
  • Indiana (Bloomington, Indiana)
  • Louisiana-Lafayette (Lafayette, Louisiana)
  • Louisville (Louisville, Kentucky)
  • LSU (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)
  • Miami (Miami, Florida)
  • Oklahoma State (Stillwater, Oklahoma)
  • Ole Miss (Oxford, Mississippi)
  • Oregon State (Corvallis, Oregon)
  • Rice (Houston, Texas)
  • South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina)
  • TCU (Fort Worth, Texas)
  • Vanderbilt (Nashville, Tennessee)
  • Virginia (Charlottesville, Virginia)

The complete 64-team bracket will be announced on Monday May 26 at 12 P.m. ET on ESPNU, and that is when the Mountain West qualifiers will know when and where they are playing.

The NCAA tournament begins on May 30 at these regional hosts which is a four-team and is a double elimination tournament with the winner advancing to the Super Regional round and then the Super Regional winners head to Omaha, Nebraska, for the College World Series.