clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Mountain West All-Conference teams: Colorado State's Garrett Grayson is Offensive Player of the Year

The 2014 Mountain West All-Conference teams have been announced, and there are a few surprises.

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The 2014 Mountain West awards are out and the voting came from all of the coaches and some of the media members that cover their respective teams. This list does have a few surprises on this list and it starts with Colorado State Rams quarterback Garrett Grayson being named the offensive player of the year.

Don't get me wrong as Grayson had an amazing season with 32 touchdowns and just six interceptions and was far and away the best quarterback in the conference. Jay Ajayi would have been my selection due to his 24 rushing touchdowns and averaging 134.92 yards per game, but he not only ran the ball well but he also was a threat receiving the ball with another four touchdowns and 45 receptions. He averaged 180 all-purpose yards per game and over two touchdowns per game.

There also is a very good case to be made for Grayson's teammate, wide receiver Rashard Higgins. Higgins was a first-team selection but he blew out any other receiver and was very dominant all year. He averaged 149 yards per game receiving, 17 touchdowns and 89 receptions. However, a receiver getting this award is tough since his quarterback would also be up for the award.

Even San Diego State's Donnell Pumphrey had to be in the mix with him leading the Mountain West in rushing and had 19 touchdowns, but the Aztecs going just 7-5 played a factor.

The offensive player of the year was very close this year, and it would be nice to see the vote breakdown for that award.

Another shock was to see that Utah State's Hunter Sharp was not named as a second-team wide receiver. Yes, his production slowed down with the constant changes at quarterback, but he still had two more touchdowns and over 200 more yards then San Jose State's Tyler Winston who earned second-team receiver honors. Winston did have 15 more receptions.

The deepest position had to be defensive backs since Boise State's Donte Deayon was a second team player who had four interceptions, one was returned for a touchdown and eight pass break ups. However, the voting seemed solid in that area with the first team, well maybe Fresno State's Derron Smith earned a bid over name than production; yet 80 tackles from a defensive back is good.

Pos. Player Cl. Team
QB Garrett Grayson Sr. Colorado State
WR Josh Harper Sr. Fresno State
WR Rashard Higgins So. Colorado State
RB Jay Ajayi* Jr. Boise State
RB Donnel Pumphrey So. San Diego State
TE Steven Walker Jr. Colorado State
OL Michael Husar, Jr. Sr. Air Force
OL Marcus Henry Jr. Boise State
OL Ty Sambrailo Sr. Colorado State
OL LaMar Bratton Sr. New Mexico
OL Kevin Whimpey Jr. Utah State
PK Will Conant Sr. Air Force
PR/KR JoJo Natson Jr. Utah State
Pos. Player Cl. Team
DL Kamalei Correa So. Boise State
DL Tyeler Davison* Jr. Fresno State
DL B.J. Larsen Sr. Utah State
DL Eddie Yarbrough* Jr. Wyoming
LB Dakota Cox So. New Mexico
LB Nick Vigil So. Utah State
LB Zach Vigil Sr. Utah State
DB Weston Steelhammer So. Air Force
DB Darian Thompson Jr. Boise State
DB Derron Smith** Sr. Fresno State
DB Frankie Sutera Sr. Utah State
P Scott Harding Sr. Hawai‘i
*--Two-Time First-Team Selection
**--Three-Time First-Team Selection
Pos. Player Cl. Team
QB Grant Hedrick Sr. Boise State
WR Tyler Winston So. San José State
WR Devonte Boyd Fr. UNLV
RB Marteze Waller Jr. Fresno State
RB Dee Hart Jr. Colorado State
TE Jarred Gipson So. Nevada
OL Rees Odhiambo Jr. Boise State
OL Cody Wichmann Sr. Fresno State
OL Matt Galas Sr. Nevada
OL Terry Poole Sr. San Diego State
OL Brett Boyko Sr. UNLV
PK Nick Diaz So. Utah State
PR/KR Lloyd Mills So. San Diego State
Pos. Player Cl. Team
DL Alex Hansen Jr. Air Force
DL Travis Raciti Sr. San José State
DL Brock Hekking Sr. Nevada
DL Ian Seau Jr. Nevada
LB Jordan Pierce Sr. Air Force
LB Tanner Vallejo So. Boise State
LB Aaron Davis Sr. Colorado State
DB Donte Deayon Jr. Boise State
DB Damontae Kazee So. San Diego State
DB J.J. Whittaker Sr. San Diego State
DB Cleveland Wallace III So. San José State
P Alex Boy So. Nevada
Garrett Grayson, Sr., QB, Colorado State
Zach Vigil, LB, Utah State
Will Conant, Sr., K/P, Air Force
Devonte Boyd, Fr., WR, UNLV
Jim McElwain, Colorado State
Air Force: Will Conant, Sr., P; Jacobi Owens, So., RB; Jalen Robinette, So., WR; Andrew Ruechel, Jr., OL.
Boise State: Dan Goodale, Sr., PK; Beau Martin, Sr., DL; Jake Roh, Fr., TE; Shane Williams-Rhodes, Jr., WR.
Colorado State: Bernard Blake, Sr., DB; Hayden Hunt, So., P; Cory James, Jr., LB; Joe Kawulok, Jr., DE; Trent Matthews, Jr., DB; Max Morgan, Sr., LB; Kevin Pierre-Louis, Jr., DB; Jared Roberts, Sr., PK; Fred Zerblis, So., OL.
Fresno State: Alex Fifita, Jr., OL; Donavon Lewis, Sr., LB; Chad Olsen, Fr., TE.
Hawai‘i: Kody Afusia, Sr., OL; Ben Clarke, Jr., OL; Tyler Hadden, Sr., PK; Scott Harding, Sr., PR; Sean Shigematsu, Sr., OL; Taz Stevenson, Sr., DB; Beau Yap, Sr., DL.
Nevada: Cody Fajardo, Sr., QB; Charles Garrett, Sr., DB; Jonathan McNeal, Sr., LB; Rykeem Yates, Jr., DL.
New Mexico: David Guthrie, Sr., DB; Jhurell Pressley, Jr., RB; Jamal Price, Sr., OL.
San Diego State: Alex Barrett, So, DL; Josh Gavert, Sr., LB; Darrell Greene, Jr., OL; Calvin Munson, So., LB; Malik Smith, So., DB.
San José State: David Peterson, Gr., OL; Jimmy Pruitt, Jr., DB; Christian Tago, So., LB.
UNLV: Devante Davis, Sr., WR; Peni Vea, Jr., DB; Robert Waterman, Sr., OL.
Utah State: Jaron Bentrude, Sr., P; Devin Centers, So., DB; JoJo Natson, Jr., WR; Elvis Kamana-Matagi, Sr., DL; Jordan Nielsen, Jr., DL; Hunter Sharp, Jr., WR; Jake Simonich, So, OL; Austin Stephens, So., OL; Brian Suite, Sr., DB.
Wyoming: Chase Roullier, So., OL.