clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Mountain West football: All-conference teams announced

The Mountain West announced their all-conference teams for the 2014 season.


The Mountain West media days are underway as the league announced its all-conference teams as well as the players of the year for the conference.

The players of the year come as no surprise as the offensive player of the year is Utah State quarterback Chuckie Keeton, Fresno State defensive back Derron Smith is tabbed as the preseason defensive player and special teams player of the year goes to New Mexico returner Carlos Wiggins.

There are not too many surprises as for who made the all-Mountain West team. One curious item is San Diego State running back Donnell Pumphrey being named the first team running back along side Jay Ajayi, because there is talk at San Diego State that Pumphrey could be sharing time. My pick would have gone to Hawaii running back Joey Iosefa.

The biggest surprise could be the snub of zero San Diego State linebackers made the cut and the only Aztec to make the defensive team was defensive back J.J. Whittaker.

Here is the preseason all-conference team.

QB Chuckie Keeton Sr. Utah State
WR Matt Miller Sr. Boise State
WR Devante Davis** Sr. UNLV
RB Jay Ajayi* Jr. Boise State
RB Donnel Pumphrey So. San Diego State
OL Ty Sambrailo** Sr. Colorado State
OL Cody Wichmann Sr. Fresno State
OL LaMar Bratton Sr. New Mexico
OL Brett Boyko** Sr. UNLV
OL Robert Waterman Sr. UNLV
TE Kivon Cartwright Sr. Colorado State
DL Tyeler Davison** Sr. Fresno State
DL Brock Hekking* Sr. Nevada
DL B.J. Larsen** Sr. Utah State
DL Eddie Yarbrough* Jr. Wyoming
LB Ejiro Ederaine** Jr. Fresno State
LB Kyler Fackrell** Jr. Utah State
LB Zach Vigil** Sr. Utah State
DB Donte Deayon** Jr. Boise State
DB Jeremy Ioane** Sr. Boise State
DB Derron Smith* Sr. Fresno State
DB J.J. Whittaker Sr. San Diego State
P Garrett Swanson Jr. Fresno State
PK Jared Roberts* Sr. Colorado State
Ret. Carlos Wiggins* Jr. New Mexico