clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Davey O'Brien Award watch list: Four Mountain West QB's earn nomination

The Davey O'Brien award has four Mountain West quarterbacks on their watch list.

Cary Edmondson-US PRESSWIRE

The Davey O'Brien watch list for this upcoming season is out, and there is some stiff competition as the 2012 winner Johnny Manziel and finalist Braxton Miller are back in 2013. If there is to be a new winner they will have their work cut out for them.

There are four Mountain West players who are nominated for the award, and some Boise State fans may not be too happy as Joe Southwick is not one of the 30-plus to make the cut to be in the running for the nation's best signal caller.

Here are the four Mountain West players to make it:

Derek Carr, Fresno State
Cody Fajardo, Nevada
David Fales, San Jose State
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State

Fales and Carr are the more traditional quarterbacks who can sling the ball around, and it helps that each have very good receivers and offensive line. While Keeton and Fajardo can throw the rock well, they are more of a dual-threat who will take off and run to make plays.

Quarterback is deep in the Mountain West so there is the possibility of Southwick or even Brett Smith to earn consideration as a semifinalist, if they perform well enough.

Just like all of the other preseason awards, any Mountain West player nominated is the real honor since winning this award is not likely.

More from Mountain West Connection: