clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Jose State goes on the road to face Colorado State

Its Homecoming at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, CO where the San Jose State University Spartans take on the Colorado State University Rams.

The San Jose State Spartans @ the Colorado State Rams

Homecoming at Colorado State University

Date/Time: Saturday, October 12th. 1:30 PM

Location: Sonny Lubick field at Hughes Stadium, Fort Collins, Colorado

TV: CBS Sports Network

Radio: Colorado State Radio Network, KJAC-FM 105.5 ESPN, KREL-AM 1580 ESPN (Colorado Springs), KSIR-AM 1010 (Fort Morgan), KRFD-FM 94.5 (Sterling), and KNZZ-AM 1100 (Grand Junction)

Online: CBS GameTracker

Weather: 59° and partly cloudy with the wind at 8 mph out of the SE. 0% chance of rain.

Odds: CSU -3.5

COACHES: CSU — Jim McElwain: 6-11 in his second second year overall as head coach.  SJSU — Ron Caragher: 46-25 in his seventh year as head coach previously coaching the University of San Diego Toreros, where he compiled a 44-22 win-loss record. The Toreros were the 2007, 2011 and 2012 Pioneer Football League co-champions.

Series History: 1961 (14 – 0 SJSU in San Jose), 1964 (14 – 3 CSU in Fort Collins), 1996 (36 – 13 CSU in Fort Collins), 1997 (55 – 20 CSU in San Jose), 2011 (38 – 31 SJSU in Fort Collins) and 2012 (40 – 20 SJSU in San Jose)

Last Year: The San Jose State Spartans have won the last two meetings against the Rams, which is the longest winning streak the Spartans have had over the Rams. The Rams won 3 straight 1964, 1996 – 1997.

The CSU Rams have a 5-game home winning streak, the longest since the 2007-08 season.

CSU linebacker Shaquil Barrett has been added to the to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been awarded for 19 years by the Maxwell Football Club and is given annually to the nation’s defensive player of the year.

Barrett was also added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, which the Football Writers Association of America gives to the top defensive player in the NCAA.

Chris Nwoke was chosen as a semifinalist for the National Football Foundation’s 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes seniors in the final year of eligibility with a minimum GPA of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale who are starters and exhibit strong leadership and citizenship.

Junior Tight End Kivon Cartwright earned the John Mackey Tight End of the Week award for his two TD catches against the UTEP Miners.

CSU center Weston Richburg is again a candidate for the Rimington Trophy and on the watch lists for the Outland Trophy and the Rotary Lombardi Award.

SJSU linebacker Keith Smith added to also added to the Chuck Bednarik watch list along with Travis Raciti and Bené Benwikere.

SJSU receivers Chandler Jones and Noel Grigsby were added to the Biletnikoff Award list, which recognizes college football’s most outstanding receiver.