clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phil Steele releases 2013 All-Mountain West team

The magazine guru Phil Steele released his 2013 All-Mountain West team.


Phil Steele's magazine is still three weeks away to being on the shelves to buy, but on his website he has started releasing his all-conference teams and top 40 countdown. Steele released his mammoth four-team Mountain West all-conference selections on Sunday, and based off this it looks like he could be favoring Fresno State or San Jose State to be the league champion.

There are six Fresno State players on the first-team and then followed by San Jose State with five first-team selection. That does not include San Jose State quarterback David Fales who is a second team selection, and behind Fresno State's Derek Carr.

Just because those two schools have the most first team selections, that does not mean they are the favorites. Obviously there is going to be challengers from Boise State, San Diego State, Utah State and just maybe Nevada.

One thing that can easily be said is that this league is deep, and there are a lot of good quarterbacks. Nevada's Cody Fajardo is on the third team, Utah State's Chuckie Keeton is tied with Wyoming's Brett Smith on the fourth team. Boise State's Joe Southwick is not included, and that is questionable in my opinion to leave him off the list.

Carr and Fales are the tops but as for the rest the differences could vary due to playing style and team scheme. The only questionable pick is having Smith on the list, but part of that is due to lack of offensive weapons. However he has the talent to be one of the leagues best quarterbacks, but only if he gets help.

The running back spots look perfectly fine with the first and second teams, New Mexico's Kasey Carrier and San Diego State's Adam Muema are the cream of the crop. However, Boise State's Jay Ajayi could make a move to be one of the top two backs in the league since he will now be getting the bulk of the carriers as D.J. Harper has moved on.

2013 Preseason All-MW Team

1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
QB Derek Carr, Fresno St David Fales, San Jose St Cody Fajardo, Nevada Chuckie Keeton, Utah St
RB Kasey Carrier, New Mexico Tim Cornett, UNLV Jon Lee, Air Force (QB) Brett Smith, Wyoming
RB Adam Muema, San Diego St Jay Ajayi, Boise St Chris Nwoke, Colorado St Don Jackson, Nevada
WR Davante Adams, Fresno St Isaiah Burse, Fresno St Billy Ray Stutzmann, Hawaii Ty MacArthur, Air Force
WR Matt Miller, Boise St Robert Herron, Wyoming Chandler Jones, San Jose St Richy Turner, Nevada
WR Noel Grigsby, San Jose St Brandon Wimberly, Nevada Devante Davis, UNLV Colin Lockett, San Diego St
TE Crockett Gillmore, Colorado St Marcel Jensen, Fresno St Gabe Linehan, Boise St Kolby Arendse, Nevada
C Tyler Larsen, Utah St Matt Paradis, Boise St Dillon Farrell, New Mexico Robert Waterman, UNLV
OG (C) Weston Richburg, Col St Jamie Markosian, Utah St Jordan Gragert, Colorado St Drew Kerber, Air Force
OG Nicholas Kaspar, San Jose St LaMar Bratton, New Mexico Cody Wichmann, Fresno St Tyler Strong, Wyoming
OT Charles Leno, Boise St Joel Bitonio, Nevada Darryl Johnson, New Mexico Jon Meyer, San Jose St
OT Austin Wentworth, Fresno St Eric Schultz, Utah St Bryce Quigley, San Diego St Brett Boyko, UNLV
1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
DL Brock Hekking, Nevada Connor Williams, Utah St Lenny Jones, Nevada Alex Hansen, Air Force
DL Travis Raciti, San Jose St Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe, Boise St Eddie Yarbrough, Wyoming Jordan Hanson, Nevada
DL Tyeler Davison, Fresno St Sam Meredith, San Diego St Jacori Greer, New Mexico Mark Garrick, UNLV
DL Demarcus Lawrence, Boise St Andy Jennings, Fresno St Tavita Woodard, Hawaii Jordan Nielsen, Utah St
LB Shaquil Barrett, Colorado St Art Laurel, Hawaii Derek Largent, San Diego St Corey Bell, Boise St
LB Keith Smith, San Jose St Nick Tenhaeff, San Diego St Jake Doughty, Utah St Donavon Lewis, Fresno St
LB Jake Fely, San Diego St Kyler Fackrell, Utah St Dallas Bollema, New Mexico Blake Renaud, Boise St
LB Vince Buhagiar, San Jose St Cory James, Colorado St Zach Vigil, Utah St Javarie Johnson, New Mexico
CB Bené Benwikere, San Jose St Sean Alston, Fresno St Blair Burns, Wyoming Steffon Batts, Air Force
CB LJ Jones, Fresno St Nevin Lawson, Utah St Shaq Bell, Colorado St Sidney Hodge, UNLV
S Nat Berhe, San Diego St John Hardy-Tuliau, Hawaii Trent Matthews, Colorado St Darian Thompson, Boise St
S Derron Smith, Fresno St Jeremy Ioane, Boise St Eric Pinkins, San Diego St Christian Spears, Air Force
1st TEAM 2nd TEAM 3rd TEAM 4th TEAM
K Austin Lopez, San Jose St Nolan Kohorst, UNLV Jared Roberts, Colorado St Nick Diaz, Utah St
P Ben Skaer, New Mexico David Baska, Air Force Harrison Waid, San Jose St Chase Tenpenny, Nevada
KR Chase Clayton, New Mexico Colin Lockett, San Diego St Tyler Ervin, San Jose St Anthony LaCoste, Air Force
PR Scott Harding, Hawaii Blair Burns, Wyoming Joe Hansley, Colorado St Tim Vizzi, San Diego St