clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Mountain West conference tournament: New Mexico's Cameron Bairstow wins MVP

The Mountain West all-tournament team featured players from the finale between San Diego State and New Mexico.

Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODA

The Mountain West tournament title game lived up to the hype between New Mexico and San Diego State, with the Lobos outlasting the Aztecs 64-58. With the San Diego State and New Mexico playing so well throughout the tournament it is only fitting that the all-tournament team featured only players from the final game.

Here is teh all-tournament team:

Cameron Bairstow, forward, New Mexico (MVP)
Alex Kirk, center, New Mexico
Kendall Williams, guard, New Mexico
Dwayne Polee II, guard, San Diego State
Xavier Thames, guard, San Diego State

Bairstow is deserving of being name the tournaments most outstanding player as he averaged 20 points, nine rebounds and two blocks in his three tournament games.

Kirk is an interesting add to the tournament team since he scored less than 10 points in the semifinals and finals, respectively. He did grab 11 rebounds each against Boise State and San Diego State, but his three blocks in the title game may have pushed him over the edge.

Williams is obvious since he scored 16 in the title game and his dagger of a very deep three-point shot to seal the title game for the Lobos.

Poles and Thames were the leading scorers for San Diego State in this tournament, and that merited their all-tournament selection.