clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Mountain West all-conference team: QB Derek Carr, DB Phillip Thomas named players of the year

The 2012 MWC football all-conference team came out on Tuesday. Fresno State's Derek Carr was the offensive player of the year, and DB Philip thomas was named the defensive player of the year.

Leon Halip

The 2012 Mountain West all-conference teams were announced on Tuesday, and the Fresno St. Bulldogs were the big winners by having their starting quarterback Derek Carr and defensive back named as the offensive and defensive players of the year.

The Bulldogs also had the freshman of the year in wide receiver Davante Adams. Adams, Thomas and Carr were also the only three players to be an unanimous selection. Overall, Fresno State led all teams with seven players on the first and second all-conference team.

The coach of the year was a tough item to pick this year, but not so sure San Diego State's Rocky Long was the right choice. Long did lead the Aztecs to a great season, even after losing stars like quarterback Ryan Lindley and running back Ronnie Hillman to the NFL. However, my vote would have come down to Bob Davie at New Mexico, or Fresno State's Tim DeRuyter.

Had Davie guided New Mexico to a bowl game he probably would have won the official ballot, but still leading this New Mexico team that had just been terrible the past few years, to now being respectable and winning game.

DeRuyter would have been my choice, just look what he did. This 2012 Fresno State team was nearly identical to what they had in 2011 -- sans Adams -- and they won just four games under Pat Hill. Long did a great job, but the award should have gone to DeRuyter.

Pos. Player Cl. School
QB Derek Carr# Jr. Fresno State
WR Davante Adams# Fr. Fresno State
WR Brandon Wimberly Grad. Nevada
RB Stefphon Jefferson Jr. Nevada
RB Robbie Rouse Sr. Fresno State
TE Gavin Escobar* Jr. San Diego State
OL Jeff Nady Sr. Nevada
OL Austin Wentworth Jr. Fresno State
OL Matt Paradis Jr. Boise State
OL Nick Carlson Sr. Wyoming
OL Nik Embernate Sr. San Diego State
PK Nolan Kohorst Jr. UNLV
PR/KR Mike Edwards Jr. Hawai`i
Pos. Player Cl. School
DL Mike Atkinson Sr. Boise State
DL Demarcus Lawrence So. Boise State
DL Tyeler Davidson So. Fresno State
DL Mike Purcell Sr. Wyoming
LB J.C. Percy Sr. Boise State
LB Albert Rosette Grad. Nevada
LB John Lotulelei Sr. UNLV
DB Jamar Taylor Sr. Boise State
DB Phillip Thomas# Sr. Fresno State
DB Derron Smith So. Fresno State
DB Leon McFadden** Sr. San Diego State
P Pete Kontodiakos Sr. Colorado State

*--Two-Time First-Team Selection
**--Three-Time First-Team Selection
#--Unanimous Selection
Pos. Player Cl. School
QB Cody Fajardo So. Nevada
WR Matt Miller So. Boise State
WR Chris McNeill Sr. Wyoming
RB Kasey Carrier Jr. New Mexico
RB Adam Muema So. San Diego State
TE Zach Sudfeld Grad. Nevada
OL Jordan Eason Sr. Air Force
OL Charles Leno Jr. Boise State
OL Chris Barker Sr. Nevada
OL Alex Johnson Sr. San Diego State
OL Brenel Myers Sr. Boise State
PK Jared Roberts So. Colorado State
PR/KR Khalid Wooten Sr. Nevada
Pos. Player Cl. School
DL Paipai Falemalu Sr. Hawai`i
DL Brock Hekking So. Nevada
DL Andy Jennings Jr. Fresno State
DL Lanston Tanyi Grad. Colorado State
LB Travis Brown Sr. Fresno State
LB Alex Means Sr. Air Force
LB Jake Fely So. San Diego State
DB Mike Edwards Jr. Hawai`i
DB Jerrell Gavins Sr. Boise State
DB Duke Williams Sr. Nevada
DB Nat Berhe Jr. San Diego State
P Alex Dunnachie Sr. Hawai`i
Derek Carr, Jr., QB, Fresno State
Phillip Thomas, Sr., DB, Fresno State
Mike Edwards, Jr., KR, Hawai`i
Davante Adams, WR, Fresno State
Rocky Long, San Diego State
Air Force: Cody Getz, Sr., RB; Brian Lindsay, Sr., DB; Jason Kons, Sr., OL; Austin Niklas, Sr., LB.
Boise State: D.J. Harper, Sr., RB; Jeremy Ioane, So., DB; Tommy Smith, Sr., LB; Ricky Tjong-A Tjoe, Jr., DL.
Colorado State: Shaquil Barrett, Jr., LB; Shaq Bell, Jr., DB; Weston Richburg, Jr., OL.
Fresno State: Sean Alston, So., DB; Isaiah Burse, Jr., WR; Richard Helepiko, Sr., OL; Marcel Jensen, Jr., TE; L.J. Jones, Jr., DB; Andrew Shapiro, Sr., P.
Hawai`i: Ben Clarke, Fr., OL; Tavita Woodard, Jr., DL.
Nevada: Joel Bitonio, Jr., OL; Allen Hardison, Grad., PK.
New Mexico: Justus Adams, Jr., PK; Dallas Bollema, Jr., LB; LaMar Bratton, So., OL; Chase Clayton, So., KR; Dillon Farrell, Jr., OL; Jacori Greer, Jr., DL; Darryl Johnson, Jr., OL; Matt Raymer, Sr., DB; Ben Skaer, Jr., P.
San Diego State: Derek Largent, So., LB; Sam Meredith, So., DL; Bryce Quigley, Jr., OL.
UNLV: Tim Cornett, Jr., RB; Robert Waterman, So., OL.
Wyoming: Robert Herron, Jr., WR; Tim Gleason, Fr., P; Ghaali Muhammad, Sr., LB; Brett Smith, So., QB.