clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Maxwell Preseason Watch List Released; Features Five Mountain West Players

With the college football season slowly approaching it means it is the time for the award watch lists to be released. Starting today and running through July 18 the watch lists will be released.

Today begins with the Maxwell Award which is award to the best overall player in college football, and this award winner usually goes on to win the Heisman Trophy. These preseason watch lists includes so many players and it really could be narrowed down to 20 guys or so players and be fine.

July 5: Maxwell Award (overall)

Boise State: QB Kellen Moore and RB Doug Martin

TCU: RB Ed Wesley

San Diego State: RB Ronnie Hillman and QB Ryan Lindley.

Mountain West opponent(s):  Damaris Johnson, Tulsa, WR; Aaron Murray, Georgia, QB; Montee Ball, Wisconsin, RB; Greg Childs, Arkansas, QB; Dayne Crist, Notre Dame, QB; Knile Davis, Arkansas, RB; Michael Floyd, Notre Dame, WR; Robert Griffin, Baylor, QB; Jared Hassin, Army, RB; Damaris Johnson, Tulsa, WR; Zach Line, SMU, RB; Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, QB; Bryant Moniz, Hawaii, QB; Denard Robinson, Michigan, QB; Rodney Stewart, Colorado, RB; James White, Wisconsin, RB; Russell Wilson, Wisconsin, QB; Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, QB.

Here is the order of the rest of the award preseason watch lists.

July 5: Bednarik Award (defensive player)

July 6: Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver)

July 6: Mackey Award (tight end)

July 7: Lou Groza Award (kicker)

July 7: Ray Guy Award (punter)

July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player)

July 8: Outland Trophy (interior lineman)

July 11: Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back)

July 12: Rotary Lombardi Award (lineman)

July 13: Rimington Trophy (center)

July 14: Butkus Award (linebacker)

July 15: Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback)

July 15: Doak Walker Award (running back)

July 18: Walter Camp Award (overall)

Follow Mountain West Connection via Twitter and Facebook for News Quick Hits and Random Nonsense.