clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Butkus Preseason Watch List Released; Features Three Mountain West Players

With the college football season slowly approaching it means it is the time for the award watch lists to be released. The 2011award watch lists are being announced daily and are running through July 18.

The latest announcement is for the Butkus Award which is given to the nation's best linebacker.

Awards with links below the jump will take you to the list of Mountain West players nominated as well as Mountain West opponents.

Mountain West nominees: Tanner Brock, TCU; Miles Burris, San Diego State; Tank Carder, TCU; Carmen Messina, New Mexico.

Mountain West opponent nominees: Chris Borland, Wisconsin; Lavonte Davide, Nebraska; Darius Flemming, Notre Dame; Jerry Franklin Arkansas; James Michael-Johnson, Nevada; Corey Paredas, Hawai'i; Mike Taylor, Wisconsin; Manti Te'o, Notre Dame, Bobby Wagner, Utah State.

July 5: Maxwell Award (overall)

July 5: Bednarik Award (defensive player)

July 6: Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver)

July 6: Mackey Award (tight end)

July 7: Lou Groza Award (kicker)

July 7: Ray Guy Award (punter)

July 8: Outland Award (interior lineman)

July 11: Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back)

July 12: Rotary Lombardi Award (lineman)

July 13: Rimington Trophy (center)

July 14: Butkus Award (linebacker)

July 15: Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback)

July 15: Doak Walker Award (running back)

July 18: Walter Camp Award (overall)

Follow Mountain West Connection via Twitter and Facebook for News Quick Hits and Random Nonsense.