clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Jim Thorpe Preseason Watch List Released; Features One Mountain West Players

With the college football season slowly approaching it means it is the time for the award watch lists to be released. The 2011award watch lists are being announced daily and are running through July 18.

The latest announcement is for the Jim Thorpe Award which is given to the nation's best defensive back.

Here is the order of the rest of the award preseason watch lists. Awards with links takes you to the list of Mountain West players nominated as well as Mountain West opponents.

Mountain West nominees: Georgia Iloka, FS, Boise State

Mountain West opponent nominees: Brandon Boykin, FS, Georgia; Alfonzo Dennard, CB, Nebraska; Antonio Fenelus, CB, Wisconsin; Duke Ihenacho, SS, San Jose State; Marco Nelson, FS, Tulsa; Harrision Smith, FS, Notre Dame; Tramian Thomas, FS, Arkansas.

July 5: Maxwell Award (overall)

July 5: Bednarik Award (defensive player)

July 6: Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver)

July 6: Mackey Award (tight end)

July 7: Lou Groza Award (kicker)

July 7: Ray Guy Award (punter)

July 8: Outland Award (interior lineman)

July 8: Bronco Nagurski Award (best defender)

July 12: Rotary Lombardi Award (lineman)

July 13: Rimington Trophy (center)

July 14: Butkus Award (linebacker)

July 15: Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback)

July 15: Doak Walker Award (running back)

July 18: Walter Camp Award (overall)

Follow Mountain West Connection via Twitter and Facebook for News Quick Hits and Random Nonsense.