clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BYU's Jimmer Fredette Wins AP Player Of The Year Award

This not a big surprise, but BYU's Jimmer Fredette was awarded the Associated Press' college basketball player of the year. Fredette led BYU to the Sweet 16 and led the nation in scoring at just over 28 points per game. Fredette received 48 votes from the 65-member associated press panel who also vote in the weekly associated press top 25 ranking. Connecticut's Kemba Walker came in second with 10 votes, Duke's Nolan Smith had five votes and Ohio State's Jared Sullinger ended up with a single vote.

Fredette is the first player from BYU to win the award and the second to win the award from the Mountain West Conference. The other was Utah's Andrew Bogut who won the award in 2005 where the Utes also made a Sweet 16 run. Voting on the award took place prior to the NCAA tournament.

Follow Mountain West Connection via Twitter and Facebook for News Quick Hits and Random Nonsense.