clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2011 Mountain West Basketball Awards: Jimmer Fredette Is Named Player Of The Year

New, 24 comments

The Mountain Basketball awards were handed out today, and to no surprise BYU's Jimmer Fredette was the named the leagues Player of the Year, while BYU head coach Dave Rose and San Diego State head coach Steve Fisher shared MWC Coach of the Year honors. BYU's Jackson Emery was named the leagues Defensive Player of the Year. New Mexico's Drew Gordon was selected as the Newcomer of the Year, New Mexico's Kendall Williams was chosen as the Freshman of the Year and Colorado State's Pierce Hornung received the Sixth Man of the Year award.

Wyoming was the only two schools to not land anyone on the first-, second- or third-team selections. They did put Desmar Jackson and Amath M'Baye received honorable mention consideration.

2010-11 All-Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball Team
(Selected by media and head coaches)
First-Team All-Mountain West
Jimmer Fredette, BYU** Sr. G 6-2 195 Glens Falls, N.Y.
Andy Ogide, Colorado State* Sr. F 6-9 245 Marietta, Ga.
Dairese Gary, New Mexico* Sr. G 6-1 205 Elkhart, Ind.
D.J. Gay, San Diego State Sr. G 6-0 170 Sun Valley, Calif.
Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State* So. F 6-7 225 Riverside, Calif.
Second-Team All-Mountain West
Jackson Emery, BYU* Sr. G 6-3 190 Alpine, Utah
Drew Gordon, New Mexico Jr. F/C 6-9 245 San Jose, Calif.
Malcolm Thomas, San Diego State* Sr. F 6-9 220 San Diego, Calif.
Tre'Von Willis, UNLV* Sr. G 6-4 195 Fresno, Calif.
Will Clyburn, Utah Jr. F 6-7 200 Detroit, Mich.
Third-Team All-Mountain West
Michael Lyons, Air Force So. G 6-6 195 Newport News, Va.
Brandon Davies, BYU So. F 6-9 235 Provo, Utah
Hank Thorns, TCU Jr. G 5-10 170 Las Vegas, Nev.
Oscar Bellfield, UNLV Jr. G 6-2 185 Los Angeles, Calif.
Chase Stanback, UNLV* Jr. G/F 6-8 210 Los Angeles, Calif.
All-Defensive Team
Jackson Emery, BYU Sr. G 6-3 185 Alpine, Utah
Dairese Gary, New Mexico Sr. G 6-1 205 Elkhart, Ind.
Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State So. F 6-7 225 Riverside, Calif.
Malcolm Thomas, San Diego State Sr. F 6-9 220 San Diego, Calif.
David Foster, Utah Jr. C 7-3 255 Lake Forest, Calif.
Honorable Mention All-Mountain West
Tom Fow, Sr., F, 6-6, 205, Air Force 
Evan Washington, Sr., G, 6-4, 195, Air Force 
Noah Hartsock, Jr., F, 6-8, 230, BYU 
Travis Franklin, Sr., F, 6-7, 215, Colorado State 
Kendall Williams, Fr., G, 6-3, 170, New Mexico 
Billy White, Sr., F, 6-8, 235, San Diego State 
Josh Watkins, Jr., G, 6-0, 200, Utah 
Desmar Jackson, So., G, 6-5, 175, Wyoming 
Amath M'Baye, So., F, 6-9, 210, Wyoming
Player of the Year: Jimmer Fredette, Sr., G, BYU 
Defensive Player of the Year: Jackson Emery, Sr., G, BYU 
Newcomer of the Year: Drew Gordon, Jr., F/C, New Mexico 
Freshman of the Year: Kendall Williams, Fr., G, New Mexico 
Sixth Man of the Year: Pierce Hornung, So., F, Colorado State 
Co-Coaches of the Year: Dave Rose, BYU and Steve Fisher, San Diego State
*Indicates number of previous all-Conference selections