clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Mountain West Conference announces preseason basketball selections!

Head over to the official Mountain West Conference homepage to read the full release!

San Diego State is the overwhelming favorite to win the conference in the 2010-2011 season. The pre-season All-Conference team includes Jimmer Fredette (BYU), Dairese Gary (New Mexico), Kawhi Leonard (SDSU), Malcolm Thomas (SDSU), Tre'von Willis (UNLV). They are all Seniors except Leonard who is a Sophomore.

The preseason player of the year is Fredette (BYU), the newcomer of the year is Drew Gordon (Who won't be eligible until next semester after transferring to UNM, whom he picked over SDSU), and the freshman of the year is Kyle Collingsworth (BYU).

Here are the voting breakdowns:

1. SDSU (21)

2. BYU (5)

3. New Mexico (3)

4. UNLV (1)

5. Colorado State

6. Utah

7. Texas Christian

8. Wyoming

9. Air Force