clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Face of the Program: Colorado State

Sonny Lubick

Sonny Lubick

AP Photo/David Zalubowski
Put simply, Colorado State was irrelevant until Lubick took over as coach in 1993. He guided the Rams to six conference titles and nine bowl games, winning 10 or more games four times. The affable Lubick restored the fan base and built a defensive tradition that featured stars such as Joey Porter, Brady Smith and Sean Moran. Colorado State went 10-2 in his second year and reached the first of three Holiday Bowls under Lubick, who finished with a 108-74 record in Fort Collins. In 2003, the school's stadium was renamed Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium. -- Adam Rittenberg's Signature Moment

<!-- Signature moment content starts here-->The Rams' golden age under Lubick began Oct. 8, 1994, when they stunned No. 4 Arizona in Tucson. Sean Moran's 79-yard return of an Arizona fumble ended up being the difference in arguably the biggest upset in school history. Colorado State finished the season 10-2.

Mike Bell Consensus first-team All-American defensive end was named WAC Lineman of the Year in 1977, went No. 2 overall in 1979 NFL draft.

Bradlee Van Pelt Van Pelt was two-time all-league selection, owns school record for total offense (8,439 yards), ranks fourth in career passing.