BCS Playoffs

I formed up 5 16-team BCS conferences to participate in the BCS Playoffs. 80 teams arranged in new 4 team divisions based on location & hopefully preserved historic rivalries. The other 46 teams are placed in 3 non-BCS conferences or Independent. They could hope to get an at-large spot with a perfect record.

11 regular season games:

  • 1 out of conference game vs non-BCS
  • 1 out of conference game vs BCS
  • 3 annual conference games vs division (column A,B,C,D)
  • 3 annual conference games vs out of division rivals (row 1,2,3,4)
  • 3 conference games in rotation - if team is A1 - (B2,C3,D4 yr 1), (C2,D3,B4 yr 2), (D2,B3,C4 yr 3)
  • Game 12 - Conference Semifinals (A winner vs B, C winner vs D) @ best record's home stadium
  • Game 13 - Conference Championship in neutral NFL stadium
  • Game 14 - BCS Quarterfinals Elite Eight (5 Conference Champions & 3 at-large, could be 13-0 non-BCS team, seeded 1-8)
  • Game 15 - BCS Semifinals Final Four (1/8 vs 4/5, 2/7 vs 3/6)
  • Game 16 - BCS Championship
  1. The Quarterfinals & Semifinals will rotate between the 6 BCS bowls - Rose, Fiesta, Cotton (new), Sugar, Citrus (new/Capital One), Orange - so each hosts the Semi's 2x every 6 years. The Championship will be bidded for like the Super Bowl.
  • Bowl Game, Game 12-14 - teams with minimum 6-5 records from regular season & not in the BCS Playoffs can accept bids to bowl games.


2 examples of how scheduling will work:

Clemson would play it's division (in column C) - Georgia, South Carolina & Georgia Tech every year plus it's out of division rivals (in row 2) - Florida State, Auburn & Louisville for 6 annual conference games. Final 3 conference games will rotate: D1 Tennessee, A3 South Florida, B4 Mississippi State in year 1 & 4; A1 Florida, B3 Mississippi, D4 Cincinnati in year 2 & 5;  B1 Alabama, D3 Kentucky, A4 Central Florida in year 3 & 6.

Boise State - Utah, Colorado, BYU division. UNLV, Stanford, Washington State out of division rivals.  Rotate B1 Arizona, C2 UCLA, D3 Washington year 1; C1 USC, D2 Oregon State, B3 San Diego State year 2; D1 Oregon, B2 Arizona State, C3 California year 3.

Mock Championship season schedule for Utah:

1 Utah State W non-BCS
2 @ New Mexico W non-conference BCS
3 Washington State W D4
4 @ USC W row 1 rival
5 Boise State W column A division
6 @ California W C3
7 Oregon W row 1 rival
8 @ Colorado W column A division
9 Arizona State W B2
10 @ Arizona W row 1 rival
11 BYU W column A division
12 Arizona State W B group winner at home
13 Stanford W C/D group winner in San Diego
14 Rose Bowl W BCS Elite 8
15 Fiesta Bowl W BCS Final 4
16 NFL Rams Dome W BCS Championship

The big winners from non-BCS to BCS are:

Central Florida, Houston, Southern Miss, SMU, Memphis, UTEP, Tulsa from C-USA.7 teams.

New Mexico, BYU (Ind.), Boise State, San Diego State, UNLV from MWC. 5 teams.

Big losers are Tulane, East Carolina, UAB, Rice, Nevada, Colorado State & Fresno State stuck in non-BCS. 7 teams


SOUTHEAST - ATLANTA Georgia Dome, home of NFL Falcons

A Sunshine B Dixie C Peach D Bluegrass
1 Florida Alabama Georgia Tennessee
2 Florida State Auburn Clemson Louisville
3 South Florida Mississippi South Carolina Kentucky
4 Central Florida Mississippi State Georgia Tech Cincinnati

ATLANTIC - CHARLOTTE Bank of America Stadium, home of NFL Panthers

A Old Dominion B Metro C Keystone D New England
1 Virginia Tech Miami Penn State Boston College
2 North Carolina Duke West Virginia Syracuse
3 North Carolina State Wake Forest Pittsburgh Rutgers
4 Virginia Vanderbilt Maryland Connecticut


A Heartland B Great Lakes C North Star D Prairie
1 Ohio State Michigan Wisconsin Nebraska
2 Illinois Notre Dame Iowa Missouri
3 Northwestern Michigan State Minnesota Kansas State
4 Indiana Purdue Iowa State Kansas

SOUTHWEST - HOUSTON, Reliant Stadium, home of NFL Texans

A Gulf B Natural C Lone Star D Red Bud
1 Louisiana State Arkansas Texas Oklahoma
2 Texas Christian Texas Tech Texas A&M Oklahoma State
3 Houston Southern Methodist Baylor Tulsa
4 Southern Miss Memphis UTEP New Mexico

PACIFIC - SAN DIEGO Qualcomm Stadium, home of NFL Chargers

A Mountain B Silver C Golden D Northwest
1 Utah Arizona Southern California Oregon
2 Colorado Arizona State UCLA Oregon State
3 Brigham Young San Diego State California Washington
4 Boise State UNLV Stanford Washington State

Mid-American (non-BCS)

Buffalo Kent State Toledo Eastern Michigan

Massachusetts Akron Bowling Green Central Michigan

Temple Ohio Miami Ohio Western Michigan

Delaware Marshall Ball State Northern Illinois

Sun Belt (non-BCS)

Florida Atlantic LA-Lafayette East Carolina Arkansas State

Florida International LA-Monroe Western Kentucky

South Alabama Louisiana Tech Middle Tennessee

Troy Tulane AL-Birmingham

Western Athletic (non-BCS)

New Mexico State Idaho San Jose State

North Texas Montana Fresno State

Texas State Wyoming Nevada

UT-San Antonio Colorado State Utah State




Air Force



Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Mountain West Connection

You must be a member of Mountain West Connection to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mountain West Connection. You should read them.

Join Mountain West Connection

You must be a member of Mountain West Connection to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mountain West Connection. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.